The Central School Arts & Humanities Center was designed and built by noted New Orleans architects "Favrot & Livaudais" in 1912 and is located at the heart of the Charpentier Historic District. In 1993, with the support of the entire Lake Charles community, the school was restored and became an "Arts & Humanities" center for the area.  Working closely with the Arts & Humanities Council of Southwest Louisiana, Calcasieu Preservation Society, artists and nonprofit organizations, the architects were able to redesign Central School's classrooms to serve as studios, galleries, and performance spaces. 
Central School Arts & Humanities Center's current tenants include visual artists, music teachers, the Children's Theatre Company, the Arts Council of SWLA, the Lake Charles Symphony and the Mardi Gras Museum of Imperial Calcasieu. The Art Associates and Black History galleries showcase local, national and international artists. The school's historic auditorium has been updated with state of the art equipment and hosts events including plays, musical performances and a local film festival.
For more information on the Central School Arts and Humanities Center, including room rental information and rates, contact:
Arts and Humanities Council of SWLA
809 Kirby Street, Suite 202
Lake Charles, Louisiana 70601-5372
(337) 439-2787